Saturday, October 22, 2011

Countdown Is On To Historic First Ever ASP Event In China.

Lindsay Steinriede (California, USA) the current ASP Women's World Longboard Title front-runner after winning the Roxy Pro in Biarritz. Credit: ASP/Bonnarme.

COOLANGATTA, QLD/Australia (Friday, 21 October, 2011) - The world’s best female longboards are preparing to head east to the island of Hainan located in the South China Sea for the second and final event of the 2011 ASP Women’s World Longboard Tour, the SWATCH Girls Pro China hosted by Wanning, the event that will decide the 2011 ASP Women’s World Longboard Champion.
There’s a multitude of scenarios that could play out to determine this year’s ASP Women’s World Longboard Champion, but ASP World Longboard Tour Manager Al Hunt says there’s really only 8 contenders.
“Technically anyone can still win the ASP World Longboard Title at this event,” Hunt said. “But realistically the women who made it to the Quarterfinals and better at the opening event in France are in the driver’s seat. We will have to see how it all unfolds, it’s going to be an exciting and historic event.”

At the helm of the SWATCH Girls Pro China will be Contest Director – Harley Ingleby the 2009 ASP World Longboard Champion. Ingleby will bring his lifetime of competitive and surfing experience to provide competitors with a level playing field.
“I really want to give everyone an equal chance to do their best and compete,” Ingleby said. “I think this is really important considering the competitors will be fighting for an ASP World Title and a place in the history books!”
The SWATCH Girls Pro China will also be the first ASP event to feature a Chinese competitor with local longboarder Darci Liu awarded an event wildcard.
The SWATCH Girls Pro China hosted by Wanning will run from 26 – 30 October. For more event info and your chance to win SWATCH Touch Eventwatches stay tuned to
For more info logon to
ASP Women’s World Longboard Tour Ratings:
1. Lindsay Steinriede (USA)
2. Jennifer Smith (USA)
3. Ophelie Ah-Kouen (REU)
3. Kassia Meador (USA)
5. Justine Dupont (FRA)
5. Kaitlin Maguire (USA)
5. Kelly Nicely (USA)
5. Amy Trujillo (USA)
9. Karina Abras (BRA)
9. Chloe Calmon (BRA)
9. Leah Dawson (BRA)
9. Estitxu Estremo (ESP)
9. Megan Godinez (BRA)
9. Rosie Locke (AUS)
9. Cristiana Pires (BRA)
9. Roxy Towill (ZAF)
17. Stacia Ahina (HAW)
17. Rachel Barry (USA)
17. Geodee Clark (HAW)
17. Melissa Combo (AUS)
17. Pandora Decoster (FRA)
17. Haunani Kane (HAW)
17. Coline Menard (FRA)
17. Kelia Moniz (HAW)
17. Emma Neuschwanger (REU)
17. Candice O’Donnell (GBR)
17. Summer Romero (USA)
17. Yuko Shimajiri (JPN)
17. Miku Uemura (HAW)
17. Hatsumi Ui (JPN)
17. Hiroka Yoshikawa (JPN)
17. Chelsea Williams (AUS)

No comments: