Wednesday, November 9, 2011

The “39 Days of the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing” Calendar Starts Saturday.

HONOLULU, Hawaii (November 9, 2011) – This Saturday, November 12, marks the official start of the world’s premier professional surfing series on Oahu’s North Shore: THE VANS TRIPLE CROWN OF SURFING, Presented by Rockstar Energy Drink. The first stop is the Reef Hawaiian Pro at Haleiwa Ali’i Beach Park. From November 12 through December 20 — 39 days — Oahu’s North Shore will be the focus of the international surfing world, featuring the final three events of the 2011 Association of Surfing Professionals Tour, and a host of entertaining surf-inspired events.
The North Shore extends a special welcome to World Champion-elect Kelly Slater (USA), who officially clinched his 11th ASP World Title this week, & defending Vans Triple Crown champion Joel Parkinson (Australia). The North Shore also welcomes Hawaii’s very own ASP Women’s World Champion Carissa Moore, who has been granted a wildcard to compete against the men in the first two stops of the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing.
All surfing events of the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing, and the SURFER Poll Awards, will be broadcast live on Time Warner Cable in Hawaii and Southern California:
HAWAII: Oceanic Time Warner Cable Channels 250 & 1250
LOS ANGELES: Time Warner Cable Channel 101
SAN DIEGO: Time Warner Cable Channel 411
DESERT CITIES: Time Warner Cable Channel 111
Reef Hawaiian Pro
November 12-23 (on the 4 best days of surf in the period)
Haleiwa Ali’i Beach Park
$145,000 prize purse
Defending Champion: Joel Parkinson, Australia
Vans World Cup of Surfing
November 25-December 6 (on the 4 best days of surf in the period)
Sunset Beach
$250,000 prize purse
Defending Champion: Raoni Monteiro, Brazil
Billabong Pipe Masters
December 8-20 (on the 3 best days of surf in the period)
Banzai Pipeline
$425,000 prize purse + Nixon watch
Defending Champion: Jeremy Flores, France
Also decides Vans Triple Crown of Surfing Champion – $10,000 bonus